top of page

Department of Space

अपडेट करने की तारीख: 8 अग॰ 2023

The Prime Minister is the person in charge of the Department of Space. The Department of Space (DOS) has the primary objective of promoting the development and application of space science and technology to assist in the all-round development of the nation. Towards this, DOS has evolved the following programmes:

• Launch Vehicle programme having the indigenous capability for launching spacecraft.

• INSAT Programme for telecommunications, broadcasting, meteorology, development of education etc.

• Remote Sensing Programme for the application of satellite imagery for various developmental purposes.

• Research and Development in Space Sciences and Technology for serving the end of applying them for national development.

Organisation With the setting up of the Indian National Committee for Space Research (INCOSPAR) in 1962, space activities in the country were initiated. In the same year, the work on Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station (TERLS) near Thiruvananthapuram was also started. Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) was established in August 1969. The Government of India constituted the Space Commission and established the Department of Space (DOS) in June 1972 and brought ISRO under DOS in September 1972.

The Space Commission formulates the policies and oversees the implementation of the Indian space programme to promote the development and application of space science and technology for the socio-economic benefit of the country. DOS implements these programmes through, mainly, Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), Physical Research Laboratory (PRL), National Atmospheric Research Laboratory (NARL), North Eastern-Space Applications Centre (NE-SAC) and Semi-Conductor Laboratory (SCL). The Antrix Corporation, established in 1992 as a government-owned company, markets space products and services.

The establishment of space systems and their applications are coordinated by national-level committees, namely, INSAT Coordination Committee (ICC), the Planning Committee on National Natural Resources Management System (PC-NNRMS) and the Advisory Committee on Space Sciences (ADCOS).

Antariksh Bhavan in Bangalore is the location for the Secretariat of DOS and ISRO Headquarters. Programme offices at ISRO Headquarters coordinate the programmes like satellite communication, earth observation, launch vehicle, space science, disaster management support, sponsored research scheme, contracts management, international cooperation, safety, reliability, publications and public relations, budget & economic analysis, civil engineering and human resources development.

Sl. No. - DoS Centres/ Units - Location

4. ISRO Inertial Systems Unit (IISU)- Thiruvananthapuram

14. Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre(VSSC)- Thiruvananthapuram


Sl. No. DoS Centers/ Units -Location

1.IN-SPACe- Ahmedabad


Sl. No. DoS Centers/ Units Location

Sl. No. DoS Centers/ Units Location

56 दृश्य0 टिप्पणी

हाल ही के पोस्ट्स

सभी देखें

Samudrayan Mission of India


Βαθμολογήθηκε με 0 από 5 αστέρια.
Δεν υπάρχουν ακόμη βαθμολογίες

Προσθέστε μια βαθμολογία
bottom of page